Guyana Elects Mohamed Irfaan Ali President

(Energy Analytics Institute, 2.Aug.2020) — Guyana’s Election Commission (GECOM) announced 2 August 2020 that Mohamed Irfaan Ali, the leading candidate from the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) had won the country’s president elections which took place on 2 March 2020.

Ali beat out incumbent David Granger and his A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change or ANPU + AFC alliance.

The final result of the election was posted on GECOM’s website and signed by the commission’s chairperson, Justice Ret’d Claudette Singh, SC, CCH.

Guyana — the newest petro-state in the Latin America and Caribbean region — started producing oil offshore in the Stabroek Block in December 2019 with the assistance of an Exxon-Mobil-led consortium that includes Hess and CNOOC.

Guyana’s Stabroek Block spans 6.6 million acres or about 26,800 square kilometers. ExxonMobil affiliate Esso Exploration and Production Guyana Limited is operator with a 45% interest along with partners Hess Guyana Exploration Limited with a 30% interest, and CNOOC Petroleum Guyana Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of CNOOC Limited, with the remaining 25% interest.

ExxonMobil expects production offshore from five developments in the Stabroek Block to reach 750,000 barrels per day in 2026, instead of 2025, due to delays related to the election stalemate and fraud allegations by both political parties and the Covid-19 pandemic.

ExxonMobil is the operator of the Stabroek, Canje and Kaieteur Blocks offshore Guyana.


By Ian Silverman. © Energy Analytics Institute (EAI). All Rights Reserved.